top of page
  • Writer's picturedanielowston

“I just want enough people to enjoy my music” - John White talks inspiration, Santa and cocktails



Where are you from?

I'm from Austin, Texas


Describe your sound:

My sound is a blend between early 2000 flows with a modern twist.


Tell us about your latest track:

My sound in this track is aggressively Christmas spirited. There's a lot of memes that come up around this time called "Santa denier" memes, where people make fun of other people that don't believe in Santa. I always found them hilarious, so I wanted to make a song with that same attitude. I also wanted people to have a laugh, because there's a lot of people that are hurting this season, and I wanted to make something that could make them smile even if only briefly. So far from the feedback I've received, it's worked.


Who inspires you?

There was a time where I'd name my top 3 rappers: Biggie, Jay-Z, Eminem, but now who inspires me comes from a lot of different genres. I'm inspired by artists that achieved greatness: James Brown, Beethoven, Frank Sinatra, Elvis, Otis Redding to name a few.


Where do you see your career in 5 years?

I see myself making a living from my music. I don't care about mega-fame. I just want enough people to enjoy my music where I can be paid doing what I love.


Where can we check out your sounds?

Right now my Soundcloud is where I host my music https://soundcloud.com/johnwhitemusic1

I also have a TikTok https://www.tiktok.com/@the.johnwhite, and a Youtube where I do singing covers. TikTok @the.johnwhite . Youtube @John-White1


Tell us something about yourself that people need to know…

I used to be a bartender and can make the best Old Fashioned you'll ever have. I made a cinnamon one this Christmas that's out of this world, not your run of the millin'!




2 views0 comments
bottom of page